“A robin builds a nest for robins. A seagull builds a nest for seagulls. They don’t copy each other – or build themselves nests as described in The Birds’ Decorating Magazine.” ~ Dorothy Draper

I’ve had a couple of friends react with shock and pity upon entering my apartment as it used to look like a cell from the Bridgeport Asylum.  I tell people I’m a minimalist but really I’m just too cheap to invest in decor. But over the year I’ve acquired several odds and ends to make my tiny studio a little more inviting.

This being LA, even at night it’s bright enough to keep a cat awake, hence the necessary window covering.

Gifted necklace from India, and Lunar New Year pictures from a free Chinatown calendar.

Hook organizer I found on the sidewalk.

Easier to find my jewelry this way.

Magazine clippings.

My landlord was amused by this collection.

MTA New York City Subway Map.

And my ‘tea’ table.

Leave a Reply

