megapost draft

Wow, it’s been a month since I’ve updated this blog, so to make up for it I’ve created a mega-post.

Made a trip to the Bay Area and wandered around the Marin Headlands to get this great view:

Then it was back to LA to work on a friend’s Karaoke web series.

Got this Goth dress at a thrift store. Quite pleased with the versatility of this purchase as over the past few years I’ve worn it to five different Halloween/costume parties.

Hiked around Point Dume with the boy. Parking is $6 at the trailhead but you can save money by leaving your car on the PCH and starting your hike from there.

Packed a picnic with fun snacks to eat while we enjoyed the view.

Attended a wedding in Long Beach and snagged another flower arrangement to brighten up my apartment.

Then it was back up to the Bay to visit with a dear friend from my college days. We split dessert at Tartine Bakery. This lemon cream tart was delicious, and so were all the sexy sailors walking around SF because of Fleet Week. Got to love free eye candy.

And free tickets for the Berkeley Rep! I enjoyed Chinglish, especially Michelle Krusiec’s performance, but at times the dialogue reminded me of a Theater Rice sketch.

Guess what else was free? The Hardly Strictly Bluegrass Festival!

Thanks to Warren Hellman, I got to see Ben Kweller, and an amazing performance by Jenny Lewis and the Watson Twins.

Driving back down to LA was murder. I was so tired I had to slap myself to stay awake. Luckily I had borrowed a couple of CDs from the library to get myself through stretches of radio hell. I was delighted to hear K-pop while driving through the Central Valley. Check out this Gangnam parody I worked on. We have over 2 million hits!

Also made a stop at Casa de Fruta to fill up. Gas prices made me wince. (And they got higher once I got back into LA.) Luckily this rest stop also had a mini-Renaissance fair going on, a whole house of fruit for sale, and vintage farm machines on display.

And finally, my friend got us free entry into the LA Art Platform. Postconsumer chic statement about all the unnecessary tools we hoard underneath the sink?

Leave a Reply

